You can add or remove athletes to runs that have already been created.  Go to the “History” tab and select that athlete that you would like to either add or remove.  Only users that have updates will receive change notifications.  The system will not add additional workouts or runs if their name remains clicked on the event.

Adding Athlete to Historical Workout